Participating Faculty & Research Units

Keck School of Medicine

Kristian Carlson, PhD

​Associate Professor, Department of Integrative Anatomical Sciences

Research interests: hominin biomechanics & bone adaptation

kristian.carlson@usc.edu

Cheng-Ming Chuong, MD, PhD

​Professor, Department of Pathology

Research interests: dermal tissue evo-devo, evolution of feathers & teeth

cmchuong@usc.edu

Personal Website

Michael Habib, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Anatomical Sciences

Research interests: pterosaurs, flight mechanics

habibm@usc.edu

Adam Huttenlocker, PhD

Principal Investigator, USC Paleosciences Research Consortium

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Anatomical Sciences

Research interests: origins of mammals, bone histology & paleophysiology

huttenlo@usc.edu

Personal Website

Tea Jashashvili, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Radiology

Research interests: virtual imaging

jashashv@usc.edu

Myra Laird, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Anatomical Sciences

Research interests: primate craniodental morphology, feeding mechanics

myralair@usc.edu

Kristi L. Lewton, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Anatomical Sciences

Research interests: primate locomotion, biomechanics

lewton@usc.edu

Personal Website

Francesca Mariani, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine

Research interests: bone development, repair

fmariani@usc.edu

Personal Website

Biren A. Patel, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Integrative Anatomical Sciences

Research interests: paleoanthropology; primate forelimb function

birenpat@usc.edu

Personal Website

Erik Seiffert, PhD

Professor, Department of Integrative Anatomical Sciences

Research interests: placental mammal evolution

seiffert@usc.edu

Personal Website

Please reload

 

Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences

Natural History Museum of

Los Angeles County

Christopher Boehm, PhD

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences 

Research interests: behavioral anthropology

cboehm1@msn.com

David Bottjer, PhD

Co-PI, USC Paleosciences Research Consortium

Professor, Department of Earth Sciences

Research interests: marine ecology, paleogenomics, mass extinctions

dbottjer@usc.edu

Frank Corsetti, PhD

Professor, Department of Earth Sciences

Research interests: geobiology, early life

fcorsett@usc.edu 

Personal website

Matthew Dean, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Research interests: reproductive biology, sexual selection, evolution of the baculum

matthew.dean@usc.edu 

Personal Website

Sarah Feakins, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Earth Sciences

Research interests: biogeochemistry, climate change

feakins@usc.edu

Personal Website

Sergey Nuzhdin, PhD

Co-PI, USC Paleosciences Research Consortium

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Research interests: speciation genetics, paleogenomics

snuzhdin@usc.edu 

Personal Website

Trond Sigurdsen, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Research interests: tetrapod phylogenetics, functional anatomy

sigurdse@usc.edu

Craig Stanford, PhD

Co-PI, USC Paleosciences Research Consortium

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Research interests: primate behavioral ecology

stanford@usc.edu

Personal Website

Please reload

 
 
 

Luis Chiappe, PhD

Director, Dinosaur Institute

Adjunct Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, USC

Research interests: dinosaur paleontology, bird origins

chiappe@nhm.org

Personal Website

Emily Lindsey, PhD

Assistant Curator & Excavation Site Director, La Brea Tar Pits and Museum

Research interests: Ice Age mammal paleontology

elindsey@tarpits.org

 Personal Website 

Jorge Velez-Juarbe, PhD

Associate Curator of Mammalogy

Research interests: morphology & systematics of marine mammals

jvelezjuar@nhm.org

Nathan D. Smith, PhD

Co-PI, USC Paleosciences Research Consortium

Associate Curator of the Dinosaur Institute

Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Earth Sciences

Research interests: dinosaur paleontology

nsmith@nhm.org

Personal Website

Jann Vendetti, PhD

Twila Bratcher Chair in Malacological Research

Research interests: evolutionary biology of gastropods

jvendett@nhm.org

Personal Website

Xiaoming Wang, PhD

Curator, Department of Vertebrate Paleontology

Adjunct Professor, Department of Earth Sciences & Biological Sciences, USC

Research interests: Tibetan mammal paleontology

xwang@nhm.org

Personal Website

Please reload

 

Affiliated Researchers

William Chang, PhD

Pathology

Hans Harn, PhD

Pathology

Masa Inaba, PhD

Pathology

Ya Cheng Liang, PhD

Pathology

Ellie McNutt, PhD

Integrative Anatomical Sciences

Please reload

20190814_PRC Logo_transparent.png
Receive Updates!
Contact Us!
  • White Twitter Icon

© 2017-2019 USC Paleosciences Research Consortium